|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Forget clicks, page views, and impressions; the only way to effectively track your online marketing ROI is through Cost-per-Action (CPA) analysis.
As the online advertising market is poised to grow nearly $10 billion over the next six years, it's essential that we remember the importance of measuring the effectiveness of that spending. There's no point undertaking any marketing or advertising campaign unless you can measure its results. And results are best measured in terms of return on investment (ROI).
Unfortunately, in the world of marketing and advertising, many businesses seem to be losing touch with their general objectives. The tools may have changed, but the principles remain the same ? Your advertising campaigns are only successful if they meet the objectives you set out to achieve. So if you're after increased sales, you need to measure the cost of each sale generated to determine your return on investment.
Fortunately for advertisers, tracking ROI for online advertising is much easier than it is for traditional forms of advertising, such as TV, Radio, Newspaper, Magazine, and Billboard. When you market online, every advertising campaign can be tracked and measured all the way down to the penny. This is why more and more advertising dollars are being spent online every day.
Why Not Cost-Per-Click or Cost-Per-Impression?
When it comes to tracking campaign effectiveness, many businesses rely on Cost-per-Click (CPC) and Cost-per-Impression (CPM) statistics. But what many people forget is that for most businesses, clicks and impressions don't earn you money. So by tracking clicks and impressions, you're not really tracking return on investment. The same is true of page stats.
If you're like most businesses, impressions, clicks, and page views are simply a means to an end. (In fact, without corresponding sales conversions, they're nothing more than unjustifiable expenses.) If you only earn revenue from sales, you need statistics linking costs and sales. In other words, you need to measure cost-per-action (CPA).
Cost-Per-Action (CPA)
In a CPA campaign, you run an online ad on third party sites and they charge a commission when a lead is generated or converted. It's performance-based pricing. This means the publisher wears most of the advertising risk, as their commissions are dependent on good conversion rates.
Perhaps the most widespread use of CPA is affiliate marketing. With affiliate marketing, you determine what actions you will reward and how much you're willing to pay per action. For example, you might engage an affiliate site to promote your business. If they generate sales for your business, you can pay them a commission. Your cost-per-action would then be the cost per sale or lead generated.
Tips on Conversion
The following conversion tips will help you plan your CPA campaign and avoid some common pitfalls.
1) How are sales and leads recorded?
For many businesses, the obvious result which constitutes a conversion is a sale. If your sale is recorded or registered online (e.g. e-commerce), it can be considered a measurable action. This means you can choose a sale as the desired action in your CPA campaign.
Depending on the aim of your campaign, you may want to measure other outcomes in addition to, or instead of, sales. For instance, you might measure leads in the form of membership registrations, newsletter subscriptions, software downloads, or just about any other activity beyond simple page browsing. So when your customer clicks register, or subscribe, or download, etc., the conversion is automatically registered and the details are fed back you're your CPA campaign.
In either case, at any time, you can log in and view your campaign results in real time.
2) Set up a landing page to capture lead contact details
If you're paying for leads, you obviously need to know when a lead is actually generated. Generally a lead becomes a lead only when the customer supplies you with their details (name, contact numbers, email, etc.). This means you need to set up a landing page on your site capture these details. Your capture page can be collect contact information or it can be as simple as a signup for a monthly newsletter.
3) Get your CPA provider to set up your landing page
If you don't have the time, inclination, or resources to set up the necessary forms and database on your own site, the CPA provider can do it on their hosted server. They collect the leads and calculate the statistics. For many businesses, this is the ideal option because it saves them time and money, and there are no tracking discrepancies.
4) Find a CPA provider you can trust
If your CPA provider will be collecting leads and calculating statistics, you need to know you can trust them. There are plenty of trustworthy providers out there; you just need to find them. A trustworthy provider will find out what your exact needs are and spend time researching your niche market online. By performing this marketing analysis, your provider will be able to tell you exactly how much business they can bring you on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis. If they can't provide you with this important information, then this is a good indication that you are not speaking with a professional internet marketer.
Just as importantly, with a trustworthy provider you'll be able to personally speak with the internet marketer who will be working on your project. This person will be an expert in the field of internet marketing, not just a sales rep.
5) Avoiding excess fees
WARNING: Some CPA providers charge a setup fee ($2,500 to $10,000) and/or a network fee (20% to 30%) for each sale or lead that is generated. Before committing to a provider demanding high fees, make sure you are getting more for your money. Most of the time high fees simply mean the sales rep is getting a higher commission!
6) Measuring your conversion rate
The Formula for measuring CPA is by dividing the total cost per advertising campaign by the total number of actions (conversions) that were received from each ad campaign. For example, if your online ad campaign costs $1,000 and generates 50 sales or leads, your cost per action (CPA) is $20.00 each.
7) Improving your conversion rate
A high conversion rate depends on several factors:
Because CPA allows you to identify exactly how much it will cost to acquire a customer, there's no guesswork involved. You have the ability to precisely calculate your ROI. And because online tools and ad serving technologies allow you to monitor effectiveness in real time, you can even tweak campaigns while they're still running. If you can master effective online advertising, you'll not only save thousands in implementation costs, you'll also reap the rewards of a far higher return on investment.
About The Author
Rick Crosby is CEO of a full-service internet marketing and online advertising agency, MarketingWebTraffic.com. Visit http://www.marketingwebtraffic.com for further details or contact Rick directly at 727-490-5739 or email mailto:rick@marketingwebtraffic.com.
Advertisement: Honest Riches - Click Here!
Advertisement: Lost AdWords - Click Here!
Advertisement: Get $1 Million A Month In Google Pay-Per-Click Ads Free! - Click Here!
Advertisement: Who Loves Money? - Click Here!
Advertisement: SEO Elite, the GrandDaddy of SEO Software - Click Here!
Multimedia here and multimedia there. Is it just a flashy thing you don't need or the reason why your competitors are getting ahead? Today's reality is that... Read More
The Internet has changed how people do their business. Even small business owners are able to reach global market inexpensively nowadays, selling anything from apparel, collectibles, to... Read More
If you are new to the Internet Marketing arena, or have a limited advertising budget, it must be hard to see where you go to get the... Read More
If you have to part with your hard-earned money for some goods or services, who would you rather trust: a novice provider or an expert one?The answer... Read More
It seems to be in vogue these days to downplay the importance of web traffic. It's popular (and perfectly valid) to say things like: "Traffic is worthless... Read More
Communication is the engine that powers business.It is an important online sales skill that you must polish until it shines like the sun.And listening and paying attention... Read More
Think about everything you can do in your business that would contribute to bringing money into your bank account.The most important thing is 'Building Your List!* Running... Read More
Back in the ancient days of 1994 when Mark Andreesen and his band of hardy programmers were inventing a ground-breaking product/application/way of life called a browser, a... Read More
Marketing would appear to be the great buzz word of the decade. Every self-respecting business team talks about it, yet many of us aren't even sure what... Read More
Billionaire Richard Branson, the entrepreneur behind the Virgin brand, is one of the world's most successful and adventurous businessmen. Not being satisfied to run several highly profitable... Read More
#1 ~Look at your past customers~Notice trends in the type of clients you attract and pay particular attention to the ones who provoke you to be our... Read More
Looking for some tips on being a newbie in the world of marketing? Here are a few to think about (and do!).1) Know your audience - While... Read More
1. Most people like surprises because it's a change of pace from their routine. Tell your prospects that they'll get a surprise free bonus for ordering.2. Most... Read More
I've never been much of an automobile mechanic, but about 25 years ago an old friend instructed me in the mysteries of how to find out why... Read More
Not long ago, industry pundits were touting B2B marketplaces or exchanges as Internet era panacea for productivity and cost-cutting problems of corporate world. Buoyed by excessive investor... Read More
You've heard that cliché over and over I'm sure, but it has never been more true than it is on the Internet.With this in mind, I randomly... Read More
One of the "secrets" in Internet Marketing is knowing that you need to be patient enough to develop the kind of business building savvy that people want.... Read More
You are now reading Part 2 of my article the "Do's and Don'ts for the Internet Marketing Newbie". Part 1 covered the Do's and this part will... Read More
Establishing a web presence on the internet is based on two factors when you are on a budget, your willingness to devote time to your marketing efforts,... Read More
No matter what business you are in there is a high chance of failure. Why? Because most people don't do the research and keep the right focus... Read More
Do you want to open the floodgate of orders at your website?Here are ten magical awesome website sales tactics to help you:1. Use reward programs to keep... Read More
The internet boom hit a high mark in 2004. With old standbys and new emergences, the top ten internet businesses 2004 show a variety of companies all... Read More
1. Utilize Your KnowledgeDo you have extensive knowledge in a particular subject? Offer people free consulting or advice on that subject via e-mail if in exchange they... Read More
Master copywriter Robert Collier often used a technique to get people to read more of his sales letters. You can use this same technique right now to... Read More
Formal business planning is a process that takes that "great idea" and subjects it to rigorous scrutiny. It either validates your premise or else shows you where... Read More
The days when you could just slap up a Website and wait for the money to roll in are long gone. Success today depends on knowing your... Read More
What is the secret to selling online? This is a significant question on the mind of anyone who has ever attempted to market a product or service... Read More
Drop shipping one of the greatest business innovations since products. Seriously, don't laugh! I'm not joking! With what other service can you use another company's products, their... Read More
Ever hear about an idea that is so simple yet so powerful, you wonder why you hadn't thought of it before?Here's one: Content ExchangeInstead of the tired,... Read More
How many times have I heard literal horror stories from Internet business startups? Too many times to count! I get emails from those who just simply can't... Read More
One of my goals online is to give you the total picture and tell you everything you need to succeed in your own Internet Marketing Business.This internet... Read More
Go for the bronze.Repeat...go for the bronze.That's right, DO NOT go for the gold.Lets look at this another way. If you are learning how to read, will... Read More
I know what you're thinking, "Why is having your own product essential?" Quite simple really, without your own product you will never market to your full potential.... Read More
Creating a lucrative online business is not an easy task. Ask any successful web entrepreneur, and chances are you will receive the same response. While some only... Read More
If you want to go far in business, and be a roaring success, you must understand that your success depends on others.This is an important success secret... Read More
The right strategies to win a share of the Internet pieEvery move in life needs a sound strategy to succeed. Now that you are keen on making... Read More
Your URL (www) should be everywhere and more. I know many of you are going to think this is common sense, but how many of these are... Read More
1. Most people like surprises because it's a change of pace from their routine. Tell your prospects that they'll get a surprise free bonus for ordering.2. Most... Read More
Do your remember when you first ventured out in the online business world? You probably had questions and problems along the way. Wouldn't it have been easier... Read More
One of the reason why the concept of free stuff online works really well has a lot to do with the nature of the internet where people... Read More
Jeff Mills, a popular internet marketer and entrepreneur told us, "I got suckered in the guaranteed sign ups myth.""It did not come as a surprise, as it... Read More
If you haven't already heard the buzz, Michael Port is the guy to call when you're tired of thinking small! Michael Port & Associates LLC is the... Read More
Some years ago, on the recommendation of a friend, I visited Amazon.com for the first time. My friend was someone whose judgement I trusted - and I... Read More
1. Information Products - it could be ebooks, "how to" videos, cassettes, magazines, newsletters, paid e-zines, courses, etc.2. Advertising Space - it could be banner ads, ezine... Read More
Copyright 2005 Tinu AbayomiPaulIn my last article on site promotion, I talked about why using one site promotion technique is a short-term solution. Now I'm going to... Read More
Thousands and thousands of people are striving to make more money in their online businesses each day. If you are one of the thousands of people, have... Read More
When the economy is booming, you may do well in your internet business.But how about during a slump?Here are a few website marketing secrets to help you... Read More
I've got a confession to make... I have been into guaranteed sign ups business for a long time but I realised many people do not know how... Read More
So you've started your business and you have a website up and running, now you need to know how to successfully market your business on the internet.... Read More
1. Product or Service That Sells WellYou want to find a product / service that sells, and sells well. You need something that people want, not something... Read More
In my previous article How To Be 100% Sure That Your New Product Is A Winner We have discussed dropping losers.I hope I have given you the... Read More
It's impossible to sell a product or service without demand ? no matter how low the price or how big the discount.Education-Based Marketing creates demand by showing... Read More